The Bucket List

If we’re being honest here, I wasn’t really planning on writing much in this blog again before I left for school (in case the fact that I updated it all of two times in June wasn’t a big enough clue). It turns out that trying to wrap up a job, an apartment, and a social life before moving to a new city is pretty time-consuming, and if my choices are between seeing friends I’ll be leaving in a month-ish(!) or taking an afternoon to lie on my couch with my trusty friend, HBO GO, or blogging, I will inevitably choose either #1 or #2.

(via tvtropes.org)

But as I wind down my last week at the office, I’ve been working on a list of all the things I want to get done in NYC before I leave (the fun list, not the boring list that has things like “Renew passport” and “Return shirt to J.Crew” on it), and I remembered why I started this blog in the first place. The whole point of it was to challenge myself to do interesting things and discover new things about this city. I used to blog about museum trips and restaurants and concerts, and then it mostly turned into a blog about training and running. Which is fine — it doesn’t mean that I stopped going to museums, eating in restaurants, or buying concert tickets (especially the eating in restaurants part), but I did stop writing about it.

However, now I’m thinking about all the things I want to make sure I get done here before I leave, and in true Liz fashion, I’ve got a list going. A New York Bucket List — The things on the list range from the intellectual (a visit to the Tenement Museum) to the mundane (watching all of The Sopranos, Game of Thrones, and The Wire on HBO GO before I leave to be super-busy at school), from the delicious and sugar-filled (the Cronut line – look away, Kim) to the intensely sweat-drenched (I’ve got a 5-pack of Refine Method classes and a 5-pack of Flywheel classes to use as a farewell to my two favorite studios). I’ve got a little over a month, including a trip out to Seattle and Portland, to soak up everything I love about NYC and pack up/move out of my apartment, and I plan on making the most of that time. Even if sometimes, “the most” means television and sitting at home trying not to spend any money. And I’m going to write about it.

So far, here’s what I have on the list:

Things It’s Impossible to Do Properly When You Have a Job: wait on line for Cronuts, snag a choice spot for me and my friends for a Bryant Park movie, get tickets to Shakespeare in the Park, get a lot of sleep while also fitting in workouts and a social life

Museums/Exhibits I’ve Been Meaning to Do for Ages: the Tenement Museum, the Punk: Chaos to Couture exhibit at the Met

Delicious Food/Restaurants I Keep Procrastinating: Battersby (although I’ve tried valiantly, this also requires not having a job and being able to get on line early for a table), macarons at Laduree (I went there in Paris, but have yet to have the patience to tackle the NYC line), Jacob’s Pickles, a dumpling crawl in Chinatown, Greek food in Astoria

Fitness Things to Burn Off All of the Above to Keep from Starting School 25 Pounds Heavier: Flywheel, Refine Method, going to the gym at non-peak hours, Bryant Park yoga, a run/walk (because my running fitness sucks right now) to the lighthouse, all the random yoga/strength classes that are offered at places like Lululemon and Athleta that I can never go to when I’m working, finally try to get some of my running fitness back

I’m not sure I’ll get to everything on the list (in fact, I’m I’m currently accepting more suggestions to add to the list — preferably free and/or delicious ones. Bonus points if you want to come do these things with me. And if they are free. Because you know what else you don’t have when you have a job? Income. Which is sort of a bummer.

But regardless, NYC and I have been in a pretty serious relationship for the last 5 years (not to mention the 18 before I left for college, and the 4 years I came back here on breaks), and I think it deserves a proper goodbye.

 

 

About elizabethbevanh

Quarterlife New Yorker, trying to make life just a little more interesting.
This entry was posted in Being healthy, Being interesting, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Bucket List

  1. Pingback: The Bucket List | The Cronuts

  2. Jen says:

    Love this list so much! Had brunch at Jacob’s Pickles on July 4 and it was phenomenal, by the way :)

  3. Kim says:

    Love this. I’ll gladly ignore the Cronuts if you promise to join me in Astoria for that Greek food!!!

  4. Heather says:

    Wow, Liz! Not only are our commutes aligned, but I’m also at the exact same life point right now! Haha. I’m packing up to go to law school (in Portland!) and working on my New York bucket list too. So weird. I’m planning to go to Bryant Park Yoga next week… Let’s meet up!

  5. Pingback: Bucket List Update: Cronut Day | An Interesting Year

Leave a Reply

