What’s Next?

(Any excuse for a West Wing clip. Watch the whole thing. It’s amazing.)

The Long Branch Half Marathon is over. I’ve returned from two weeks in China and Korea. ‘Tis the season for firing up the air conditioner.

So… What’s next? A break in training before starting up again and getting redemption from the NYC Marathon? After a 2:07 from a relaxed training cycle, maybe choosing a fall half and trying to inch closer to my 2:02 PR, OR the elusive sub-2 hour half-marathon time?

Not quite.

I’m not sure if I have a lot of readers who don’t know me in real life, but for all four of you who don’t really know me, Fall 2013 is going to be no ordinary season. I won’t be training for any long-distance races or focusing on any PRs… Because I’m leaving New York and moving to Boston for grad school (!!).

This is a terrifying but thrilling development, and it’s been in the works for a while – if anyone remembers last summer’s marathon posts full of super vague lines like “I have a lot of stuff going on right now…”, grad school applications were the lot of stuff. But I emerged on the other side of that crazy summer by getting into a school I am unbelievably lucky to be attending and so, yeah, no distance racing for me this fall (sadly, this also means that this blog is likely going to stop bring updated, like, ever. So my lazy posting this summer is really just my efforts to ease you into what this fall is going to be like).

But so… Now what? What does summer 2013 hold? I can already tell it’s going to fly by in a blur of getting ready for school, wrapping up at work, a trip to the Pacific Northwest to consume my body weight in craft beer/cheese/other delicious things, and of course, spending as much time with everything and everyone I love and will miss dearly in NYC.

...Like these girls, pictured before the Mini 10K on Saturday.

…Like these girls, pictured before the Mini 10K on Saturday. We can discuss the fact that I wore a running skirt at a later date but let me tell you, I kinda liked it.

On the workout front, things are going to look a little bit different than they have in a while in these parts. I was in a yoga class at Strala the day after I returned from Asia, trying to stretch out everything bad that happens to your legs after 14 hours on a plane, and I had a weird little epiphany that what I want to spend my summer doing is having fun and really just doing lots of GOOD for my body.

…Which is one of those stupid things that I say that doesn’t actually mean anything. So let me explain.

I will never in a million years say that training for a distance race is unhealthy or a bad thing, but it takes its toll on me. My muscles get tight and sore and tired, and I inevitably wind up on the physical therapist’s table getting yelled at for my weak hips. I’m tired because I wake up early a lot to work out (and uh, I’m working out a lot). Running a lot makes me hungry, and I really like bagels and pancakes. I sacrifice strength training and yoga to have time to run (see my above comment about weak hips). I get angry and sort of anti-social because I’m tired or need to wake up the next day to run. It’s not that it’s impossible to solve these problems while training, but honestly, I’m ready to de-emphasize running in my workout routine for a little bit to focus on those other weaknesses.

This summer is going to be full of strength training, Refine Method (a new addiction I haven’t properly celebrated in a post yet, but I will), Flywheel, yoga, clean (for the most part… If you think I’m completely abandoning New York pizza and bagels my last few months living here, clearly you haven’t been reading this blog for long enough) eating, sleeping, and yes, some running, but probably not more than 10 or 12 miles a week for a long, long time.

I know this summer is going to fly by, and then I get to embark on a completely new adventure. I don’t know what my workout options are going to be at school, but I know that I’m going to be adjusting to a completely new routine, new city, new obligations, and new friends, so I want to get the most out of this summer that I can. I want to leave for school in August after having the best summer ever, feeling like I finally dedicated myself not to increasing mileage and pounding the pavement every day, but to doing great things for my body and mind.

SO. Want to do something fun this summer? Take a class with me, throw some weights around, run some laps around the reservoir (but not too many), eat some vegetables, and find every place it’s possible to drink wine outside in the five boroughs? I’m in!

About elizabethbevanh

Quarterlife New Yorker, trying to make life just a little more interesting.
This entry was posted in Being healthy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What’s Next?

  1. This post made me tear up. Words can’t express how much you will be missed so count me in for the Refine Method, reservoir running and outside drinking parts of your plan! Need to spend as much time as possible with you over the next 2 months.

  2. B. says:

    New adventures are always exciting, and Boston is such a great city! NYC running will always be here too; ready and waiting for you! PS I feel you on the pizza and bagels part!

  3. I would love to enjoy a class with you before I leave NYC as well! I’m so excited for your next adventure!

  4. Pingback: A Not-Training Recap | An Interesting Year

  5. Pingback: The Bucket List | An Interesting Year

Leave a Reply

