Feeling Very Metropolitan

When I started this blog, it wasn’t really meant to be so focused on running and working out. Things have definitely changed — it turns out that a blog is a great way to keep yourself accountable for things like training for a marathon (wow, how long ago does that feel?) and a great way to make new friends as added motivation to work out. Also, when I don’t have anything interesting to write about, the ridiculous musings of a psychotic runner always make for good blog fodder.

But this blog originally started as a way to hold myself accountable for a 2011 New Year’s Resolution to break out of my activity/social rut and make sure that I was experiencing everything that New York had to offer. And being in between training cycles and therefore able to completely skip working out on a Saturday (and actually having energy to do things) makes this the perfect time of year to re-kindle that goal.

For weeks, I had been seeing ads for exhibits at the Met that I wanted to see, and by this weekend, the list had gotten too long. It turned out that Rebecca wanted to see the same exhibits (and was willing to let me drag her to the baseball card exhibit), so we made plans for an early Saturday morning trip to the museum.

Metropolitan Museum of ArtI love museums, but I’ll admit, I have a limited tolerance for them. I like to walk relatively fast and not spend a lot of time in any one exhibit. Mostly because more than two hours of slow museum walking makes me want to rip my legs off and hit someone with them. Rebecca is the same way (similar philosophies are key to finding a good museum buddy), so we knocked out a bunch of exhibits in the <2 hours we were there:

Matisse: In Search of True Painting

I’m admittedly not a huge Matisse fan (I tend to judge art by whether or not I’d want it hanging in my house, and Matisse kind of bores me), but even I can appreciate his work and contribution to the world of art, so this exhibit was pretty great. Definitely worth checking out.

“Woman in Blue” – this painting was there, as was the actual skirt. Pretty cool. (image via calitreview.com)

Regarding Warhol: Sixty Artists, Fifty Years

I had been looking forward to this exhibit for a while — a huge exhibit full of Andy Warhol’s work, and works inspired by him. There was definitely some weird stuff in this exhibit (um, like a half-statue of Stephanie Seymour jutting out from the wall), but a lot of cool stuff, too (like a chainsaw covered in Chanel logos, and amazing Warhol work, of course).

Also, this painting. Andy Warhol’s “Red Jackie” (image via metmuseum.org)

Bernini: Sculpting in Clay

Snooze. We walked through this in five minutes. We’re such philistines. #SorryImNotSorry

Faking It: Manipulated Photography Before Photoshop

SO COOL. Exactly what it sounds like. Full of cool old-timey photographs manipulated without the help of Photoshop. This was one of my favorites — per my above criteria, I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to have this hanging in my house (oh, to be rich and be able to buy cool art):

Ann Rhoney’s “Silk Dress Coming” (image via metmuseum.org)

The Jefferson R. Burdick Collection of Baseball Cards

This exhibit was tiny and hard to find, but very awesome if you like baseball and old-timey sports memorabilia. And if you’re with someone who hates sports, let them know that it’s LITERALLY one twenty-foot hallway and takes all of three minutes to see. Apparently this Jefferson Burdick fellow owned THIRTY THOUSAND baseball cards. I love baseball, but… damn.

IMG_0846

And of course, we saw two more of my favorite Met spots: the Christmas tree (’tis the season, after all)…

IMG_0842

…and the lists of old-timey benefactors. It sounds lame, but I love looking at these old engraved panels in the Great Hall. Lots of Old New York aristocratic names to be found, if you know who to look for!

IMG_0849

IMG_0850

We finished up our day with brunch at Parlor Steakhouse, chasing a pair of windowpane-print pants from the Gap from the Upper East Side to Chelsea, and chasing a MAC Lipstick to a weird Pro store we had no idea existed, let along was open to the public. Mimosas and bloody marys are stellar shopping fuel, in case you were wondering.

About elizabethbevanh

Quarterlife New Yorker, trying to make life just a little more interesting.
This entry was posted in Being interesting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feeling Very Metropolitan

  1. Mom says:

    My personal favorite benefactor is Klaus Von Bulow (you’re probably too young to recognize the name; look it up)

Leave a Reply

